(March 11) Vol. 6, No. 5

A WORD FROM THE EDITOR
It’s Okay To Be Imperfect

I wrestled with whether or not I should write this article because I felt like speaking on imperfection (being human) is similar to talking about vulnerability and I’d hate to repeat myself. Plus I didn’t want to write another ‘sad’ piece: grieving, vulnerability and now imperfection—but I’m going forward with it because I realize being able to talk about your internal battles is a joyous thing. When you can admit where you are, you are allowing God to come in and repair, restore, and renew. We as believers need to learn to celebrate in our pain, myself included.

This week God showed me that I have a very strong desire to be the perfect sister, aunt, daughter, friend, soror; even spouse for the man the Lord will lead to me. When I fall, I take it to heart; I can’t accept it and suddenly I have the compulsive need to make it right, “You’re horrible,” is what I find myself thinking. If I’m not (able to be) there for a friend, I stew over this until I reach a point where I’m waiting for them to want nothing to do with me.

And when they don’t, and choose to forgive me instead, it makes me feel even worse.

I say to myself, “Why? How come? I’ve let you down. I’ve disappointed you, so why are you forgiving me when I’m not worthy?” I begin trying to make amends by seeking to go out of my way for them, above and beyond, because I believe I can’t accept their forgiveness until I think we’re back on the up and up again, but that’s not how forgiveness works. When a person forgives you, they’ve forgiven you and you get it even though you may not want it or feel undeserving. It’s just the same as God’s love and His grace—He gives it to you anyway; it’s not something you can earn, and whether you accept it or not, it’s yours.

Ultimately while that person has forgiven me, I choose not to forgive myself.

Forgiving yourself and learning to be okay with being imperfect are connected. In order to truly be okay with making mistakes, disappointing people, or not being the best you could be some days means you have to be able to forgive yourself. You need to be able to understand you are going to mess up, you’re going to hurt someone you didn’t intend to, you’ll get on people’s nerves; you will have a bad day and that’s fine. Know this:

Being imperfect does not mean that you are damaged.
Being imperfect doesn’t mean you’re doomed for failure.
Being imperfect definitely doesn’t mean you are not worth loving.

Remember that we are all unworthy, but Christ loves us anyway despite all our flaws and bad habits, our shortcomings and stumbles. I’m finally beginning to see that it’s okay to be imperfect because that’s precisely how God made me to be. Jesus gets the glory in my imperfection because He doesn’t just show the world what He can do through unseemly folks (such as myself,) but He reminds me He is all I need. We weren’t designed to take the world on our shoulders. If we were, we would forget all about the Lord.

Another thing I’m learning is that sometimes you have to cut ties with people who try to pick at or exploit your imperfections. There is nothing wrong with letting them go. Embracing you for you is a process and you have to be willing to take on the risk of getting hurt, it’s fine if you take a hit. As God explained to me, the people who’ve hurt me didn’t win because I am still here. No one gets over on you when Jesus has the final say over your life.

But let me be clear. People who correct you using the Word and give sound godly advice (also backed by the Word of God) are not trying to condemn you for being imperfect; they are dong their job in being their brother’s/sister’s keeper and are looking our for you. We are imperfect but that is no excuse to go out and sin all willy nilly.

(Yes, I said willy nilly. Go ahead and smile, that’s all right, too.)

Know the difference between someone helping you up and someone who is beating you up. Learn to love yourself and all your imperfections, and stop seeing it as weakness. Let us all pray that we can tell ourselves, “It’s okay to be imperfect,” and mean it…

…because it is okay.


NEWS
Local news in the area

No happenings as of yet, but the church is still currently raising money to finish the installation of our restroom. You can donate here: KTOR Radio


BREAKING BREAD
Sunday sermons, Wednesday messages

Sunday, March 6, 2016 “Wait (Isaiah 40:27-31)”

In this passage, Isaiah had to remind the church that despite everything going on, God was still in control, “Sometimes we feel like God has forgotten us” and it “makes us want to give up.” Just because the Lord doesn’t come right away, doesn’t mean He isn’t going to show up at all, “When you understand how God operates, time is nothing to Him… Waiting requires a purpose. We have to have something worth waiting for.” If he has made a promise to us, and we know that God will not lie or go back on His word, then we should wait with confidence in knowing that it’s going to happen.

Everything might be falling apart, but we must be patient, “Sometimes He allows certain things to come to see if you’re going to be faithful like you said you would…God is not going to force you to live for Him. You have to have the discipline to live for Him.”

We must be cautious about how we wait, “You get so impatient and frustrate yourself so much you frustrate the people you’re trying to help… The love of God is contagious but you have to have discipline.” Regardless of what the world thinks, you have to make your mind up that you are going to wait on God no matter what. Often when we talk to carnal people about spiritual things, it makes no sense to them. They might make you feel crazy, “but wait…when you understand your purpose and…add discipline it add to your strength.” God is an on-time God, always.

The eagle is significant because it is a powerful bird of prey, “God is saying He’s going to give us the power of an eagle. When it’s time for you to soar, spread your wings.” Know that your Father has you covered all around. When we come to Him He’ll give us rest “and we’ll rise up again. Keep on keeping on, even when it seems like the weight of the world is on your shoulders.”

Visit KTOR Radio to listen to the sermon in full or hear previously recorded broadcasts on Sunday Morning Live.


THE ART GALLERY
Poems, shorts and other creative pieces

Got any artwork you’d like to submit? Or maybe a short story or poem you wish to share? Email: TOR_COGIC@yahoo.com


“ATTENTION, ATTENTION!”
Events, announcements for the month of March

  • Mar. 4: Missions Workshop, 10 a.m. and Conference, 7 p.m., Prairie View, Texas
  • Mar. 11: First Lady Prince’s Birthday
  • Mar. 13: Friendship Church Anniversary, 3:30 p.m., Port Arthur, Texas
  • Mar. 27: “The Remedy” Talent Showcase, 5 p.m.
  • Mar. 29: Sister Watson’s Birthday

**This issue has been edited**

Leave a Reply

