(Jan. 17) Vol. 7, No. 1

(Late issue for Jan. 13)

A WORD FROM THE EDITOR
A Change in the Air

Well hey there!

I’ll be starting this year’s A Word from the Editor with a poem I’ve written called Shallow Breaths. I believe it sums up everything I’ve been feeling and dealing with these few weeks from December until now.

sukuyomi-vari_change-wind
Artist Unknown

As for the Safe Haven, I’ve been doing some thinking and I’m considering changing this from an online newsletter to a church blog. The reason for this is because I’ve recognized that the Safe Haven is a newsletter that doesn’t have any news, save for the few times I’ve written pieces informing about the latest happenings that have gone on. I’m considering the option of turning the News section into an updates section because it would seem more fitting. I haven’t made any final decisions as of yet, but I’ll be seeking and praying before I do. I want to make sure that I’m doing what is pleasing to God rather than what I feel is best. As soon as I come to a decision on what direction the publication is moving in, I’ll be sure to inform you all.

I’m also going to be bringing back music/album reviews, but they will be incorporated into The Art Gallery rather than having their own separate section. I will still do articles on artwork I find or come across. Fingers crossed that I get some actual recommendations from the readers! If you all think there’s someone who I should consider featuring (whether it’s dance, arts and crafts, photography, cinematography, poetry, music–whatever it is) and they’re talented at what they do, and giving it their all for Jesus, please email me their info: tor_cogic@yahoo.com. Feel free to drop me a link to their social media account in the comments section where I can see their work for myself.

Right now, I’m glad to be back doing what I love to do. Things have been topsy-turvy but I’m thrilled to be writing the first issue for the SEVENTH volume of Safe Haven. We’ve come such a long way and I pray Jesus continues to take us even further.

Happy New Year everyone,

Jacqueline S. Sadberry
Editor in Chief


NEWS
Local news in the area

The fundraiser to build the bathroom is currently on hold, but donations are still appreciated. We need $6000 to begin construction; $4000 has been collected so far.

To make a donation, please go to ktorradio.com and click on the donate button on the top right of the homepage.


BREAKING BREAD
Sunday sermons, Wednesday messages

Sunday, Jan. 8, 2017, “Against All Odds (Matthew 8:5-8)”

all-odds
Photo source: Google Images

Go to Sunday Morning Live to hear this week’s sermon or to listen to previous ones.

Download the free Spreaker app to tune in live when we broadcast at 9 a.m. or listen by way of ktorradio.com

No bible study service was held


THE ART GALLERY
Using artistry to empower the Kingdom

HIDDEN TREASURES, GREAT FINDS: PETER GRAY

by Jacqueline S. Sadberry
Editor in Chief

Kicking off 2017 as The Art Gallery‘s first feature is a young man by the name of Peter Gray. I was worried I would have anything to feature until rapper and poet Propaganda reposted a drawing Peter did of him on Instagram. I was so impressed I immediately followed Peter and began sifting through his posts. That’s when I found this lovely, incredibly dope beauty right here:

belle1

belle2
Beauty & the Beast puzzle stationary by Peter Gray

Peter is actually a product designer who resides in Derby, United Kingdom. (To get a clearer idea of what exactly it is he does, here’s a link to his professional portfolio: coroflot.com.) He doesn’t just sketch for designs for businesses though; he also does a lot of creative works on the side, many of which you can view on his Instagram @pete.g92. I would describe his art as simple, clean and multidimensional because he has various creative styles.

That’s all for today. If you would like to be considered for a feature in The Art Gallery or if you know someone who’s work could be a top contender, please email at tor_cogic@yahoo.com


“ATTENTION, ATTENTION!”
Events, announcements for the month of January

Dates will occasionally be added to the calendar

  • Jan. 8: Sister Sheneka’s Birthday
  • Jan. 22: “The Remedy” Open Mic Night, 5 p.m.
One thought on “(Jan. 17) Vol. 7, No. 1

Leave a Reply

